Easy stitching

As an eternal apprentice, I am always looking for good, simple and visual methods, that make you want to get sewing. When I discovered “Mode pour LOL” on Youtube (in French ony), I told myself that my blog had serious competition. So I asked Catherine, the creative director, to send me the 2 DVDs for beginners (pattern-making and stitching) to get an idea of her method. Today I will stop only on the stitching DVD.

The content is comprehensive enough to beginner or intermediate level, the basics are there (machine stitches and hand stitches, skirts, pants and tops), but also some tips for impeccable results (collars, pockets, interlining). There is also a chapter that is difficult to find in sewing books: “in what order to assembly the clothes” which is useful when making patterns on her own.

The videos are easy to follow, clear, coupled with a pleasant voice. There are some good tips (like the one to make small test pieces when trying a technique for the first time) and 2 hours include all essential steps for sewing.

Here are my favorite sequences:
Sewing darts: everything is explained, from baste stitching to ironing, interlining and strengthening. As a bonus, there are the couture darts that require special threading of the sewing machine (which I discovered for the first time):
vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h24m21s949vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h25m34s584vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h25m55s473vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h26m49s383

Sewing pants: always a complex piece, now the installation of the fly front is carefully explained.
vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h32m43s927

Sewing sheer fabrics: it might seem plain but when we do not follow these rules, we are sure to bungle the garment.
vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h38m52s104

Adapting commercial patterns: with a couple of pins and a pencil, we can pivot and redraw any pattern (well, not the most complex) to our size.

vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h41m12s206

The DVD allowed me to review some techniques and discover others without being bored. It’s less expensive, funnier and more diggest than a sewing encyclopaedia. Details are here.

L’assemblage facile

Comme une éternelle apprentie, je suis toujours à la recherche des bonnes méthodes, simples et visuelles, qui donnent envie de se mettre à la couture. Quand j’ai découvert «Mode pour LOL» sur Youtube, je me suis dit que mon blog avait une concurrence sérieuse. J’ai donc demandé à Catherine, la créatrice des vidéos, de m’envoyer les 2 DVD pour débutants (assemblage et patronage) afin de me faire une idée sur sa méthode. Aujourd’hui je vais m’arrêter uniquement sur le DVD d’assemblage.

Le contenu est assez exhaustif pour débutant ou niveau intermédiaire, les bases y sont (points machine et points à la main, coudre les jupes, les pantalons et les hauts), mais aussi quelques astuces pour avoir un résultat soigné (les cols, les pinces, les poches, l’entoilage). Mais il y a aussi un chapitre qu’on ne trouve pas facilement dans les livres de couture: «l’ordre d’assemblage des vêtements», qui est sacrement utile quand on fait des patrons soi-même et qu’on ne dispose pas de la notice d’assemblage du patron du commerce.

Les vidéos sont faciles à suivre, claires, doublées d’une voix agréable. Il y a des bons conseils (comme celui de faire des petits pièces d’essai quand on tente une technique pour la première fois) et sur 2h on a l’essentiel de la couture étape par étape.

Voici mes séquences préférés:
Coudre les pinces: tout est expliqué, du bâti jusqu’au repassage, l’entoilage et le renforcement. En bonus, il y a les pinces hautes couture qui nécessitent un enfilage spécial de la machine à coudre (que j’ai découvert pour la première fois):

vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h24m21s949vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h25m34s584vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h25m55s473vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h26m49s383

Les pantalons: une pièce toujours complexe, voici que le montage de la braguette est minutieusement expliquée.
vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h32m43s927
Coudre les tissus transparents: ça a l’air bête mais quand on ne respecte pas ces quelques règles, on est sûrs de rater le vêtement.

vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h38m52s104

Adapter les patrons du commerce: avec quelques épingles et un crayon, on pivote et on redessine n’importe quel patron (enfin, pas les plus complexes) à notre taille.

vlcsnap-2016-03-05-21h41m12s206

Un DVD qui m’a permis de revoir certaines techniques et d’en découvrir d’autres, sans m’ennuyer. C’est moins cher et plus digeste qu’une encyclopédie de la couture, avec l’humour en plus. Les détails sont ici Mode pour LOL.