Princess Pink Fleece

Remember this refashion contest I won on Thread & Needles more than a year ago? For my first place, I had a voucher from France Duval-Stalla that I’ve used recently.

When visiting their website, I noticed their fleece offer, fabric that I love so much in winter for its softness and warmth. I chose 100% brushed cotton in candy pink. It marks a little, which is normal considering its composition, but it is very comfortable to wear and almost as warm as a cashmere sweater.

For the cut, I found inspiration into a Zara sweater I bought a few years ago. The fabric was beginning to loose a bit. The original model had short sleeves, I did a winter version:

IMG_7470

 

IMG_7473

IMG_7502

 

IMG_7510

IMG_7513

With the scrapings I sewed two mini-dresses decorated with pink tulle and silver rose piping. The princess can brave the cold now.

IMG_7519

IMG_7517

10 lovely outfits sewn in 2014

The end of the year is near so I thought that would be good to make a collection of the most beautiful creations made by non-professional dress-makers in 2014. The following selection includes only my favorite creations and has no other purpose that make you (re) discover outfits sewn with a lot of talent and inspiration.

Regarding children outfits, I found this charming pink wool coat for little girls. I like the Dior fabric, the amount of neccessary work for lining and interlining and the detail of the double collar. Well done, Anne-Charlotte.

lebazar

I also found this medieval-inspired dress in organic cotton, with hood and waist skirt. Simple though unusual look. Keiko is right to propose this small wonder in her shop.

hekate

Let’s go back to Belle Époque and corsets. I was blown away by the meticulous work of Ségolène for this strapless red and gold corset. Making several test-cloth to find the final pattern, stitching three fabric layers, inserting stretchers and sewing lace by hand, it’s nearly «haute couture» for me.

talonsaiguilles
Also inspired by Belle Époque and Alfons Mucha, Lili sewed her own charming wedding dress. I love the central yoke, the drape of the dress and the small chain made by her future husband. They make a great team together.

lili

In my wanderings on the sewing blogs, I also found these two summer dresses, light and spicy, with lots of freshness, brought by two pretty seamstresses.

The first is a strapless dress with an embroidered hem. The idea is very simple but the result is the kind of dress you can put any time and for any occasion if you choose the right accessories. Besides, Carlotta loved so much the pattern that she made several dresses of it.

carlotta

The second is a printed dress with a twist on the neckline. The skirt falls beautifully on Leisl. All of her creations are full of peps and colors. Her blog is a good antidepressant before winter.

jorth

But now look at 20s inspired look of Esther. This young fashion design student found her rosy fur in the scrap bins of her fashion school. I love the colors, the pictures made by herself, the Great Gatsby atmosphere, the accessories, everything.

esther

Another nice sewing talent found to the other side of the Atlantic, Dawn has made a cute little red military inspired jacket I love the color, the cut, the buttons and the photos.

twoON

Here’s a dress inspired by Celine shows, a dress with tying sleeves. Katy has made her own version, also chic and intriguing. Like what, browsing Pinterest is not always a waste of time:-)

kathy

And finally, Petit Main Sauvage concocted this flattering and comfortable gray jersey dress. She was inspired by 50s silhouette and Nordic sweaters. And no, her cup of tea is not too present in the pictures.

petitmain

I hope you liked my selection and would come back for further discoveries.

col rond

How to draw a round collar

I had the idea for this tutorial when drawing the model “Miss Baker”. The round collar or Peter Pan collar is one of the easiest to trace, nevertheless, by reading all of my pattern-making books, I could find no less than 4 different methods for drawing. I deliver here the simplest one, extracted from the book “Sewing: Create his own patterns” by Jo Barnfield and Andrew Richards, published by Eyrolles Editions. Read more

A flannel dress

The dress I present today has been finished nearly nine months ago. But the time we make the photos, we were already in the spring. Showing gray flannel in April has a depressing side, so I waited for the cold to be back to write this post. And reshoot some pictures. Read more

ease

Fully Fashioned, the creative challenge launched by ARTE

Fully Fashioned is a competition organized by ARTE Creative, the think tank of the Franco-German TV channel. The aim is to present and reward the best clothing upcycling, the most original refashion. By browsing the gallery you can see creative transformations, but more or less wearable. Having a sense of challenge, I start thinking of an idea, original course, but also a new garment that I could wear every day. Read more

The pantsuit

Indian Summer is a concept that I discovered in Paris. This time of the year when summer finally decides to show up, but just to wave its hand before disapearing for 10 months. Indian Summer is a puzzle when it comes to dressing: summer dresses look too “holidays” and autumn outfits are too warm. What to do? A safe value is the linen pantsuit. Read more

One project

Sometimes ideas come to us when we are the least prepared to receive them. One day, I let my dreams be written by themselves on a white page, and when I wake up, the story got its meaning. I have not been hit by the grace in the middle of my life, but this new project was like a puzzle that solved by itself in a matter of hours. Read more

Summer time, suit time

In winter, I was dreaming of summer outfits, easy and fast sewing projects, and I was imagining a lot of dresses in light and colorful fabrics. When summer came, I found myself sewing suits. Cotton or linen certainly, but with collar, sleeves and pockets, and all the work that goes with that. Read more

Les 10 créations couture que j’ai adorées en 2014

La fin de l’année approche à grands pas et je pensais faire un recueil des plus jolies créations réalisées par les couturiers amateurs en 2014. La sélection ci-après inclut uniquement mes coups de cœur et n’a pour but que de vous faire (re) découvrir de belles tenues cousues avec beaucoup de talent et d’inspiration.

Du coté des enfants, je suis tombée sur le charme de ce petit manteau fille dans un lainage rose. J’aime ce tissu Dior, le travail qui a été nécessaire (avec doublure et triplure) et le détail du double col. Bravo Anne-Charlotte.

lebazar

Toujours pour les mômes, cette robe médiévale en coton bio, avec capuche et ceinture jupe. Il faut reconnaître que l’ensemble a de l’allure. Keiko a raison de vouloir proposer cette petite merveille dans sa boutique.

hekate

Passons maintenant à la Belle Époque et aux corsets. J’ai été bluffée par le travail minutieux de Ségolène sur ce bustier rouge et doré. Réaliser plusieurs toiles pour arriver au patron final, coudre les trois tissus superposés, insérer des baleines et coudre la dentelle à la main, c’est presque de la haute couture pour moi.

talonsaiguilles

Toujours d’inspiration Belle Époque et Alfons Mucha, Lili a cousu cette charmante robe de mariée. J’adore l’empiècement central, le drapé de la robe et la petite chaînette réalisé par son futur mari. Ils doivent faire une belle équipe tous les deux.

lili

Dans mes flâneries sur la blogosphère, j’ai trouvé aussi ces deux robes d’été, légères et piquantes, portées avec beaucoup de fraîcheur par deux jolies couturières.
La première est une robe bustier avec ourlet brodé. L’idée est très simple, mais on peut mettre cette robe en toute occasion si l’on choisit les bons accessoires. D’ailleurs, Carlotta a tellement aimé ce patron qu’elle en a fait plusieurs versions.

carlotta

La deuxième est une robe imprimée avec un effet torsadé sur le décolleté. La jupe tombe magnifiquement sur Leisl. Toutes ses créations sont colorées et pleines de peps, son blog est un bon antidépresseur pour l’hiver.

jorth

Mais regardez maintenant la tenue année 20 d‘Esther. Cette jeune étudiante en stylisme a trouvé dans la poubelle de son école de mode, parmi d’autres chutes, de la fourrure. J’adore les couleurs, les photos (qu’elle fait elle-même), l’inspiration Gatsby le Magnifique, les accessoires, absolument tout.

esther

Toujours de l’autre coté de l’Atlantique, Dawn a réalisé une mignonne petite veste rouge d’inspiration militaire. J’adore la couleur, la coupe, les boutons et les photos «maison».

twoON

Et voici maintenant une robe inspirée des défilés Céline, une robe dont les manches peuvent se nouer devant. Katy a réalisé sa propre version, tout aussi chic et intrigante. Comme quoi, parcourir Pinterest n’est pas toujours une perte de temps 🙂

kathy

Et enfin, Petit Main Sauvage a concocté cette robe en jersey gris, très seyante et confortable. Elle s’est inspirée de la silhouette des années 50 et des pulls nordique et non, sa tasse de thé n’est pas trop présente sur les photos.

petitmain

J’espère que ma sélection vous a plu et à bientôt pour d’autres découvertes.

Comment tracer un col rond

C’est en dessinant le modèle « Miss Baker » que j’ai eu l’idée de ce tutoriel. Le col rond ou le col « Claudine » est un des plus simples à tracer, néanmoins en consultant mes livres de patronage, j’ai pu trouver pas moins de 4 méthodes différentes pour le dessiner. Je vous délivre ici la plus simple, celle du livre « Couture: Créer ses patrons » de Jo Barnfield et Andrew Richards, paru aux éditions Eyrolles. Lire plus

Une robe en flanelle

La robe que je vous présente aujourd’hui est finie depuis à peu prés 9 mois. Mais le temps que je fasse les photos, c’était déjà le printemps. Montrer de la flanelle grise en avril ayant un coté un peu déprimant, j’ai donc attendu que le froid revienne pour publier ce post. Et refaire quelques photos. Lire plus

aisance un ma,teau transformé

Fully Fashioned, le défi créatif lancé par ARTE

Fully Fashioned est un concours organisé par ARTE Créative, le laboratoire d’idées de la chaîne franco-allemande. Le but est de présenter et récompenser les meilleures transformations de vêtements, les récupérations les plus originales. En jetant un coup d’œil dans la galerie, on peut voir des idées très intéressantes, mais plus ou moins portables. Ayant le sens du défi, je me suis dit que je devais faire une création originale certes, mais surtout un nouveau vêtement que je pourrais mettre tous les jours. Lire plus

éco textiles

Les éco textiles au salon « Première Vision »

Septembre est le mois des salons de textiles. Que ça soit pour « Première Vision » ou « TexWorld », Paris devient le carrefour des acheteurs et des vendeurs de tissus. En février, lors de mon précédent passage, je faisais ma visite « touristique » en m’arrêtant simplement devant les pièces les plus étonnantes. Cette fois-ci, j’y suis allée en qualité d’acheteuse pour mes futurs pyjamas. Lire plus

tailleur pantalon

Le tailleur pantalon

L’été indien est un concept que j’ai découvert à Paris. Ce temps où l’été se décide encore de se montrer, mais juste pour nous faire un « petit coucou » (autre concept français) avant de s’en aller pour 10 mois. L’été indien est aussi un casse-tête vestimentaire: les robes d’été font trop vacances et les tenues d’automne sont trop chaudes. Alors que faire? Une valeur sure reste le tailleur pantalon en lin. Lire plus

pantalon recyclé

Un projet

Parfois, les idées viennent à nous quand on est le moins préparé à les recevoir. On se retrouve un beau jour à laisser nos rêves s’écrire tous seuls sur une page blanche, et, au réveil, l’histoire prend un sens nouveau. Je n’ai pas été frappée par la grâce en plein milieu de ma vie, mais ce nouveau projet fut comme un puzzle qui s’est résolu tout seul en l’espace de quelques heures. Lire plus

tailleur gri tailleur fleuri