The pattern of a kimono sleeve

One of my readers asked me to write a tutorial on the kimono sleeve. I tried it once, I found the pattern making method rather simple but the result was so disappointed that I completely put that idea aside. It was problem with the fabric choice more than the pattern. So I prefer to warn you, for this type of sleeve, choose a light knit fabric. The kimono sleeve is very fashionable this year, in its various versions.

In this tutorial, I’ll show you the simple one, the kimono sleeve without gusset. This method of construction comes from the book “The fashion pattern-making, Volume 2” by Teresa Gilewska. Let’s start with the beginning.

1. Take your made to measure bust pattern, without darts but with enlargements, and make sure that the front waist width is equal to the back waist width. It other words, remove 1 cm or more from the front and add 1 cm or more to the back (Figure 1).
1_EN

2. On the balanced front and back pattern, draw an horizontal line from the neckline. AB = shoulder length + the desired sleeve length. From point B, draw a vertical line in right angle that corresponds to the sleeve bottom. BC = ½ width of the bottom of the sleeve (Figure 2)
2_EN

3. From point C, draw the under-sleeve line. This line must meet a platitude of few inches below the wrist and therefore form a right angle in D. CD forms the shape of the kimono. Following the desired amplitude, D is between the armhole line and the waist line (Figure 3).
3_EN

4. The pattern can be done on fold by removing the stitching on the shoulder. In this case, unfold the pattern and draw the front and back neckline (Figure 4 and 5). Place the notches. You have your dolman sleeve
4_EN.
5_EN

5. This construction is not suitable for heavy fabrics, because the thickness of the folds formed under the arms can cause discomfort in the movements. To reduce the wideness, you need to move down the sleeve. This inclination of the sleeve is limited to the shoulder line (Figure 6). Below the shoulder line, the kimono sleeve requires the construction of a gusset.
6

Your sleeve expertise continues to increase. After the basic sleeve, the raglan sleeve and kimono sleeve, are you ready to learn the shirt sleeve?

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblr

3 thoughts on “The pattern of a kimono sleeve

  1. Very easy steps to follow.thanks so much for the guide.
    I especially love the aspect of choice of material..

  2. trying to fit in kimono sleeve, the square dropped shoulder, finding difficulty where the side seam meets up the join of base of sleeve (under arm bit) ?? please help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Le patron de la manche kimono

Une de mes lectrices m’a demandé un tutoriel sur la manche kimono chauve-souris. Je l’ai essayé une fois, j’ai trouvé la méthode de patronage assez simple, mais le résultat m’a tellement déçue que j’ai complètement mis cette idée de coté. Ce fut un problème de choix de tissu plus que de patron. Donc je préfère vous prévenir, pour ce type de manche, choisissez un tissu fluide de type jersey. La manche kimono est très à la mode cette année, dans ses différentes versions. Dans ce tutoriel, je vous présente la version simple, chauve-souris, sans gousset.

Cette méthode de construction est extraite du livre «Le modélisme de mode, volume 2» de Teresa Gilewska.
Commençons donc avec le début.

1. Prenez votre patron de buste sur mesure, sans pince, mais avec élargissements, et équilibrez les cotés du buste pour obtenir une largeur à la taille égale sur le devant et sur le dos. Ça veut dire, enlevez 1 cm ou plus devant, pour rajouter 1 cm ou plus dans le dos (figure 1).

1

2. Sur le patron du dos et du devant déjà équilibré, tracez une ligne horizontale AB à partir de l’encolure. Cette ligne horizontale comprend la longueur d’épaule (du patron du buste) et la longueur de manche désirée. A partir du point B, tracez en angle droit une ligne verticale qui correspond au bas de la manche. BC = ½ largeur du bas de la manche (figure 2)

2

3. A partir du point C, tracez la ligne du bas de la manche CD. Cette ligne doit respecter une platitude de quelques centimètres en bas de manche, et donc un angle droit en D. CD détermine la forme du kimono. En fonction de l’amplitude désirée, D se trouve entre la ligne d’emmanchure et la ligne de taille (figure 3).

3

4. Le patron peut être fait au pli, en enlevant la couture sur l’épaule. Dans ce cas, déplier le patron et tracez l’encolure devant et dos (figure 4 et 5). Placez les crans de repérés. Vous avez votre manche kimono chauve-souris.

4
5

5. Cette construction ne convient pas aux tissus épais, car l’épaisseur des plis formés en dessous des bras peut provoquer une gêne dans le mouvement. Pour plus de confort, il faut incliner davantage la manche. Cette inclinaison de la manche est limitée à la ligne d’épaule (figure 6). En dessous de la ligne d’épaule, la manche kimono nécessite la construction d’un gousset.

6

Votre expertise manche ne cesse d’accroître. Avec la manche de base, la manche raglan et la manche kimono, êtes-vous maintenant prêtes pour attaquer les manches chemisier?

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblr
This entry was posted in Patrons.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *